Where Were U In ’92?

3 Dec

Well. I was being born. But despite that fact my love of underground music from that era is probably stronger than any other music scene I’m into. Growing up at home in that era, my uncle was always spinning his records, stuff like Altern8, Manix, Joey Beltram etc.. And I think it has had a subliminal imprint in my head since that time. I often look back in sadness at that era, sad that I missed being at the centre of that scene, going to the shoreham powerstation raves like my uncle, mum and auntie did or the M25 Orbital raves around London. But I think without that sense of nostalgia surrounding this music it wouldn’t have the effect it does today. Fortunately when my uncle moved to America he left me all these gems behind along with a hard drive full of tunes he had ripped from vinyl then sold. Probably my most favorite pass-time is educating myself in music, particularly music that links in with what I’m involved in today, and there’s no question that Jungle and Breakbeat Hardcore are huge benefactors in this, also being strictly a UK style (for the most part at least) it makes me proud to be living in the UK. I think this music is often forgotten in the continuum of what is considered “cool” at the moment, with so many people turning their heads to techno, detroit, house and garage because Ben UFO or Jackmaster play it so much. I’m currently putting together a mix of this music for mixcloud, which I’ll upload here when finished. But for now. Let’s spam the fuck out of youtube and whack up some of my most heartfelt nostalgic rave and jungle tunes

I could go on….

Leave a Reply

